
Here we have another WIPO procedure won by Google over a domain name in a clear trademark infringement. The domain was vietnamadwords.com and Google, represented in this case by Ranjan Narula, won the procedure over the previous owner.
Google has offered advertising services under the mark Adwords since 2001. Therefore,they contended in the complaint that the domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark. But not only this, they also declared that the respondent registered and used the domain name in bad faith.
- "Respondent had Complainant and its ADWORDS mark in mind when registering the Domain Name. The former prominent use of the word Google on Respondent’s website makes this conclusion virtually inescapable."
- "Respondent’s conduct constitutes an intentional attempt to attract, for commercial gain, Internet users to Respondent’s site by creating a likelihood of confusion between the ADWORDS mark and the Domain Name."
The respondent failed to provide a response in this proceeding and the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed, and the Panel decided the disputed domain name be transferred from the respondent to the complainant. As everyone expected, of course...
To see the full decision you can visit this page.
Related posts:
